Pop-Punk’s Beloved Avril Lavigne Is Back


(Photo Credit via gettyimages.com)

Chris Palone, Editor

“Love Sux” is the seventh studio album by Canadian pop-rock singer Avril Lavigne. The album was released on February 25th, 2022 through Elektra Records. It includes twelve tracks and features collaborations from Machine Gun Kelly, Blackbear, and Mark Hoppus of Blink-182. The album sold over 80,000 copies during its first week of release worldwide and was the second best-selling album in the United States.

Avril Lavigne officially returns to her pop-punk roots that fans have been craving since her 2007 album “The Best Damn Thing.” The album features a song with none other than Blink-182’s lead singer Mark Hoppus, who is someone Lavigne has looked up to since her teenage days. Produced almost entirely by Mod Sun, John Feldmann, and Blink-182’s drummer Travis Barker, this album will have you wishing it was 2004 again and you were skating down an empty street in heavy black eyeliner. From the screaming your lungs out “F.U.” to the more vulnerable, cooled down “Dare To Love Me,” this album is a roller coaster. While the lyrics are heavily nostalgic and really reminiscent of her 2000s skater kid days, some of them can feel questionable considering the great songwriting Lavigne showed on her 2011 album “Goodbye Lullaby.” Music evolution is definitely something that all artists should seek, and while Lavigne isn’t necessarily going backwards, she isn’t going forwards either. Despite this, the production is fresh. It is repetitive in some spots, but with how energetic and fun this album is, you kind of ignore it.

As a whole, “Love Sux” is generally a great album. It’s nothing more than a fun punk album that has the perfect sound for working out (based on my experience). Subjectively speaking, it’s Lavigne’s second-best effort of her career.